arizona records

  • Stevie Nicks
  • Bella Donna
  • Modern Records
  • 1981
  • MR 38-139
  • 12”
  • 33 rpm
  • Album
  • Significant tracks:
    • “Stop Draggin’ My Heart Around” [featuring Tom Petty and the Heartbreakers]
    • “After The Glitter Fades”
    • “Edge Of Seventeen”
    • “Leather and Lace” [featuring Don Henley]
  • Record Exchange, Silver Spring, MD

1990. Violent by Nature 

is the second and final album from thrash metal band, Atrophy. It was released on Roadrunner Records – like its predecessor, Socialized Hate. The band made the journey from Arizona to California to record it. They followed up with tours of the USA and Europe with the likes of Sacred Reich and Coroner, but shortly after, Chris Lykins left the band to pursue a medical school course and the band split up after Roadrunner Records lost confidence in the band because of the departure of one of its leading songwriters.

The model for the artwork is Richie Bujinowski (now Cavalera), who would later become Max Cavalera’s adopted stepson and frontman of Incite.

Atrophy struggled to find their own sound, and instead elected to more or less imitate their influences. All that changed with their second effort. Violent by Nature displays a band coming into a sound and style all there own. The band remains talented, playing a slightly technical brand of thrash, however this time around the band sounds more concentrated and mature.The album displays more variation with regards towards guitar solos and riffs.

Atrophy - Interview (1990)

Brian Zimmerman    Chris Lykins   Rick Skowron   James Gulotta   Tim Kelly