argus pheasant



1. Giant Argus (Argusianus argus) displaying - largest bird in the family, larger than a peacock

2. Crested Argus (Rheinardia ocellata)

3. Crested Argus - showing raised crest

There are 8 species of Peacock Pheasants,
these are the prettiest in my opinion

3. Malayan Peacock Pheasant (Polyplectron malacense) pair. male displaying

4. Palawan Peacock Pheasant (Polyplectron napoleonis) pair, male displaying

5. Male Palawan Peacock Pheasant tail closed

6. Grey Peacock Pheasant (Polyplectron bicalcaratum) pair, male displaying


Great Argus Pheasant

(Argusianus argus)

Is a large pheasant found in south Asian islands such as Borneo and Sumatra (colloquially known as a Phoenix). unlike other pheasants they are not very colorful, they “make up for this” by having an extremely large tail. like other pheasants they exhibit sexual dimorphism, as males are 79in long but with their massive tail that can grow up to 56in long .their tails have many ocelli (eyspots) on them. the females on the other hand are smaller and duller than their male counterparts. they are also diurnal feeding in the morning and evening which is fairly  unusual for galliformes. they were actually named by Carolus Linnaeus Argus referring to an hundred eyed giant in Greek mythology. according to the IUCN they are listed as Near Threatened.