alternative rock


Eliza And The Bear - Lion’s Heart

Matt Berninger and Brent Knopf Announce New Album as EL VY

EL VY is a new collaboration between The National’s Matt Berninger and Menomena’s Brent Knopf. The duo have announced their debut album, entitled Return To The Moon - it’s out October 30 on 4AD. You can check out the album’s details below, along with a press release detailing the collaboration. Finally, check out “Return to the Moon (Political Song for Didi Bloom to Sing, with Crescendo)”, the album’s lead single.

01 Return To The Moon (Political Song for Didi Bloome to Sing, with Crescendo)
02 I’m The Man To Be
03 Paul Is Alive
04 Need A Friend
05 Silent Ivy Hotel
06 No Time To Crank The Sun
07 It’s A Game
08 Sleepin’ Light (feat. Ural Thomas)
09 Sad Case
10 Happiness, Missouri
11 Careless

EL VY (pronounced like a plural of Elvis; rhymes with ‘hell pie’) is the musical collaboration between Matt Berninger, vocalist and lyricist of The National, and Brent Knopf, the Portland musician and producer best known for his work in Menomena and his more recent band, Ramona Falls. Their debut album ‘Return To The Moon’ will be released on October 30th via 4AD.

The album is a project Berninger and Knopf have been thinking about for years. Their friendship spans nearly a decade, starting back when the National and Menomena played small half-empty clubs along America’s west coast. Feeling an immediate musical kinship, the pair kept in touch, Brent sending Matt occasional rough sketches of music and Matt responding with melodies and lyrics.


Best Coast - When Will I Change (Live At Dot To Dot Festival)