aiesha coyle

Some interesting facts about 2014's World Champs!

This year’s Worlds saw only 5 champs from 2013 retain their title. In the girls comps only Shannon Bradley retained her title while in the boys’ comps, Ronan Kelly, Jack Quinn, Seán Downes and David Geaney all became World Champs again. Considering that in 2013, 15 champs retained their titles (8 boys and 7 girls) that meant we had a lot of new winners in 2014! 

Of these new winners, 15 were first time World Champs. We had 8 new female winners (Alliyah O'Hare, Siobhán Phelan, Cosette DeBourbon, Orla Mullane Godley, Niamh O'Brien, Céili Moore, Alessandra Doughty and Nadine Martin) and 7 new male champions (Ronan O'Brien, Callum O'Neill, Tadhg Spillane, Conor Walsh Mitchell Hodges, Michael Gardiner and Conor O'Brien). In 2013 there were only 5 first time winners (Aiesha Coyle, Clodagh Davis, Layla Healy, Sean Slemon and Tyler Schwartz)!

We then had 5 previous World Champs regain their titles in 2014. Julia O'Rourke, Melanie Valdes, Jason Hays and Gerard Byrne all won their 2nd Worlds title while Shauna Ryan gained her 3rd. 

And then our 5 champs who managed to retain their titles in 2013. 2014 saw Shannon Bradley, Jack Quinn and David Geaney win their 5th titles while Ronan Kelly won his 4th title and Sean Downes his 7th!

By country, Ireland won the most titles with 11 World Champs. North America was next with 8 champs followed by England with 4 and Australia and Scotland with 1 each.

The dancer who currently holds the most World titles and competed in 2014’s Worlds is Seán Downes with his massive 7 titles so far. Next to him are Suzanne Coyle, Therese Corless, Shannon Bradley, Jack Quinn and David Geaney each with 5 titles to their names.

Sean Downes’ 7th World title win puts him in joint 5th place (with Kevin Nealon) on the all-time male winners by number of titles list.Above him on that list are John Carey in 4th place with 8 titles, Colin Dunne in 3rd place with 9 titles, Kevin McCormack in 2nd place with 10 titles and Colm O'Sé in 1st place with 11 titles.


SRMCB Ball!!