“It was 2AM and I was sitting on the floor in my parent’s basement with a MicroKorg on my lap. I built this synthy legato, ‘ping’ sound routed through a lowpass filter and ran it through a bunch of guitar pedals. I come up with a little cascading part that wound up as the intro and verses of a song called 'Fireflies.’
I have insomnia and I’ve always had a tough time falling asleep for as long as I can remember. I wanted to sing about my inability to sleep in a whimsical way that portrayed the condition as lighthearted and almost more of a 'blessing’ than a curse. It’s ironic that when sleep and I cannot bring ourselves to meet is often when inspiration strikes hardest. I’d just been on vacation to Iowa the week before I wrote the song and was amazed at how many fireflies came out at dusk. I didn’t really have to think about making a connection between insomnia and lighting bugs, it just sort of happened and the song basically wrote itself. It was a lot of fun.”

-Adam Young

Hoot Owl *Real Talk* Vol. 5

“Adam has kept us waiting after The Midsummer Station without an album for like 3 years”

Adam released 11 brand new full length tracks in that time frame, which is the length of an album. (And that’s excluding demos, covers, collaborations, remixes, and teasers!)

  1. When Can I See You Again
  2. Live It Up
  3. Shine Your Way
  4. Hey Anna
  5. I Hope You Think of Me
  6. Tokyo
  7. Wolf Bite
  8. Up All Night
  9. Beautiful Times
  10. Kiss Me Babe It’s Christmas Time
  11. Light of Christmas

“Adam hyped this up, assured us he was back, solo, doing his own thing, and now he’s releasing a mere 8 new tracks, 4 of which have other featured artists”

Adam is back (quite frankly he never left), he is doing his thing, and has a literal arsenal of 18 (EIGHT-TEEN) brand new, solo tracks on the verge(!) of being released, not with Mobile Orchestra but with Dreamworks as soon as they finish rewriting the script to the movie, and this is SO Adam: He has never just used one medium to get his amazing art to us (he uses Tumblr, Instagram, Soundcloud, Facebook, Albums, EPs, and…movie soundtracks!)

  1. Tea Date
  2. It’s My Turn Now!
  3. She’s Taken
  4. Let the Rebellion Start
  5. Race to the Wedding
  6. Can You See My Shadow Please
  7. Tall as a Building
  8. High
  9. Lots of Balloons
  10. Listen to my One Rule
  11. Friends Again
  12. Rocketship
  13. Can We Build That House
  14. NO!
  15. Troubled to Hear
  16. Crater
  17. Here I am
  18. Chipmunks

I consider just one track produced by Adam Young, from Air Traffic to The Yacht Club, as a bar of 100% pure, solid gold that is awe-inspiring, rich and dense in value, and priceless. THUS, whether it be 1 track, 8 tracks, 5 tracks, 18 tracks, 0.5 tracks, or 0 tracks from this point forward, I will forever be grateful and elated to have had all these bars of shiny, spectacular bars of gold.

Thank You Adam Young. Your bars of gold have shown me pure, beautiful, optimism.


OMG! I’m so proud of Adam. “Hello Seattle Remix” made it to Super Bowl XLIX!!

Made with Instagram