Castle Varrich’s (Caisteal Bharraich) precise origin and date are unknown. The ruins are located in the far north of the Scottish highlands near the village of Tongue on a local high point of rock overlooking both the Kyle of Tongue and the village of Tongue. Varrich Castle has spectacular views of mountains Ben Loyal and Ben Hope.
The castle was the ancient seat of the Clan Mackay and it is possible that they built the castle over the site of an old Norse fort sometime in the 14th century or later. Little is known about its history.
Tourin Castle, Cappoquin, County Waterford, Ireland
Tourin Castle probably dates to the early 17th century. It’s a four story tower house and it’s first recorded occupant was Edward Gratrix, a tenant of the owner, Edmund Roche. The castle was eventually sold to the Nettles family in 1780.
Mallow Castle is a 33-acre site composed of gardens and parkland on which three buildings sit: the remains of a 16th-century fortified house (pictured above), a 19th-century mansion to the north, and the ruins of a 13th-century castle to the east. The fortified house is a long rectangular three-storey building, with two polygonal towers on the north-west and south-west corners. It is early Jacobean in style, featuring high gables, stepped battlements, and mullioned windows. The wings of the house project from the center of the south and north walls, with the entrance in the north wing. The design of the house was to provide a field of fire around it entirely.
The 16th-century fortified house is believed to have been built by Sir Thomas Norreys before his death in 1599. Following his death, his niece Elizabeth and her husband Sir John Jephson inherited the house, with their family remaining in Mallow for almost 400 years. It was placed under siege by Richard Butler, Lord Mountgarret, in 1642 during the Irish Confederate Wars and did not fall. It was captured in 1645 by James Tuchet, Lord Castlehaven. The house was badly damaged by fire during the Williamite War and subsequently abandoned by the Jephsons. The Jephsons built the new mansion house on the site of the older castle’s stable block.