7

2018 YA Reads by Authors of Color

#PrettyBoy Must Die by Kimberly Reid - A CIA prodigy’s cover is blown when he accidentally becomes an internet sensation, inspired by the #Alexfromtarget story.

96 Words of Love by Rachel Roy & Ava DashJames Patterson Presents a modern retelling of a classic Indian legend, 96 Words for Love is a touching coming-of-age story that reads like Eat, Pray, Love for teens.

500 Words or Less by Juleah del Rosario - To redefine her reputation senior year, Nic Chen begins writing their college admissions essays. But the more essays Nic writes for other people, the less sure she becomes of herself, and whether her moral compass even points north anymore.

After the Shot Drops by Randy Ribar - A powerful novel about friendship, basketball, and one teen’s mission to create a better life for his family in the tradition of Jason Reynolds and Walter Dean Myers.   

A Girl Like That by Tanaz Bhathena - When half-Hindu, half-Parsi school troublemaker Zarin Wadia dies in a car crash with a boy named Porus, no one in her South Asian community in Jeddah is surprised—what else would you expect from a girl like that?

A Land of Permanent Goodbyes by Atia AbawiAfter their home in Syria is bombed, Tareq and family seek refuge, first with extended family in Raqqa, a stronghold for the militant group, Daesh, and then abroad.

A Reaper At the Gates (An Ember in the Ashes #3) by Sabaa Tahir - Within the Empire, the threat of war looms, putting Laia, Helene, and Elias at risk. 

A Thousand Beginnings and Endings edited by Ellen Oh & Elsie Chapman - 15 bestselling and acclaimed authors reimagine the folklore and mythology of East and South Asia in short stories that are by turns enchanting, heartbreaking, romantic, and passionate. 

All of This is True by Lygia Day PenaflorFour privileged Long Island teens befriend their favorite YA author with disastrous results.

All Out: The No-Longer-Secret Stories of Queer Teens Throughout the Ages edited by Saundra Mitchell - A historical-fiction anthology shines the spotlight on queer teens, from as far back as the 1300s to the 21st century.

Keep reading

March For Our Lives | Sacramento, CA

Things literature has taught me: Stand up for your beliefs. Stand up against corruption and tyranny. Stand up for those who can’t stand up for themselves. There is power in unity and the only way real change can be made is if the people rise up to demand it.

#booksnotbullets

“Maybe you should stop reading and go to sleep”

Originally posted by amonmahboi

6

travel to a world
          of dark bargains struck by moonlight,
                      of haunted towns and hungry woods,
                                 of talking beasts and gingerbread golems,
                                              where a young mermaid’s voice can summon deadly storms
          and where a river might do a lovestruck boy’s bidding but only for a terrible price.

@sixofcrowsnet (edit + official art)

The Lady’s Guide to Petticoats and Piracy

Felicity Montague is through with pretending she prefers society parties to books about bonesetting—or that she’s not smarter than most people she knows, or that she cares about anything more than her dream of becoming a doctor.

Fresh off an accidentally whirlwind tour of Europe that she spent evading highwaymen and pirates with her brother Monty, Felicity has returned to England with one goal in mind—to enroll in medical school. However, her intellect and passion will never be enough in the eyes of the administrators, who see men as the sole guardians of science. But then a small window of hope opens. Felicity is offered a chance to break into this male-dominated world, although it might financially ruin her.

For the last year, she has been depending on the generosity of Callum Doyle, a lovestruck suitor from Edinburgh. But then he had to go and propose marriage. Felicity can think of nothing less appealing than giving up her career aspirations to become someone’s wife. Luckily, a mysterious young woman will pay handsomely for help with a heist—not for jewels, but for stolen sea charts that belong to the British Navy.

Despite the danger, Felicity’s tempted by the money, but she never expects to be swept up in a perilous quest that leads her from the German countryside to the promenades of Zurich to secrets lurking beneath the Atlantic.

2

jude duarte | the cruel prince by holly black

“I am going to keep on defying you. I am going to shame you with my defiance. You remind me that I am a mere mortal and you are a prince of Faerie. Well, let me remind you that means you have much to lose and I have nothing. You may win in the end, you may ensorcel me and hurt me and humiliate me, but I will make sure you lose everything I can take from you on the way down. I promise you this is the least of what I can do.”