The tube-eye fish (Stylephorus chordatus), one of my favorite fishes.

Its eyes are tubular in shape, so it can see very well in the depths. Its can enlarge its mouth 30-40 times its original size, so it can suck a lot of seawater and then expels that water through the gills, leaving behind the copepods on which it feeds.

Scientist are not sure about its phylogenetic position. For now is considered a  lampriform, but it also may be related to Gadiformes.

El “pez gallo” (Stylephorus chordatus), uno de mis peces favoritos.

Sus ojos tienen forma tubular, por lo que puede ver muy bien en las profundidades. Puede alargar su boca 30-40 veces su tamaño para absorber agua marina y atrapar su alimento, botando el agua por las agallas y dejando a copépodos (zooplancton) dentro.

Los científicos no están muy seguros de su posición filogenética. Por ahora está considerado un lampridiforme, pero también podría estar relacionado a los Gadiformes.


Palm-nut Vulture with Fish, Murchison Falls NP, Uganda by John Birch/ bluesplayer43

Sometimes known as Vulturine Fish Eagle, the Palm-nut Vulture is the only fish eating member of the vulture family. It also feeds on crabs, molluscs and insects. This one, ture to form, wash feeding on a fish. This one was shot down on the Victoria Nile delata region of Murchison Falls National Park in Uganda. Murchison Falls National Park, Uganda Canon 5D MII | EF 100-400mm | f/7.1 | 400mm | 1/400 sec | ISO 200 | Hand-held

The wild-type zebrafish larva on the left is stained for the two neuronal proteins (green) and membrane-trafficking proteins expressed near synapses (blue). On the right, the neurons of a transgenic zebrafish larva produce the dementia-associated Tau protein (red), a disease-specific form of which is stained in blue. Tubulin is stained in green.

Confocal micrograph of a blind cavefish embryo at around five days post-fertilisation viewed from the side (lateral view) with an antibody that targets a calcium binding protein (calretinin) shown in green, which highlights different neuronal types and their processes in the nervous system. The cavefish Mexican tetra (Astyanax mexicanus) has a seeing and a blind form; the latter lives in dark environments, and relies on other senses. The blind cavefish has specially adapted traits that its sighted relation (dwelling near the surface) does not. These include a greater number of sensory receptors and taste buds along its body; these taste buds are also more efficient than the equivalent cells in the seeing cavefish. The eyes are still present at this stage of development but they will degenerate naturally during the lifetime of the fish as they live in a dark environment where eyes are redundant. Adult cavefish are blind.

Fennec Fox

(Vulpes zerda)

Distribution: Sahara Desert to the Nubian Desert, North Arabia     

Habitat: Sandy Deserts

Food: Various animals and plant foods, particularly insects 

Size: 42-72cm (17-29in); 1-1.5kg (2.2-3.3lb)

Maturity: Suckled for 2 months and mature by 6 months

Status: Common

Phylum: Chordata                                                              

Subphylum: Vertebrata

Class: Mammalia                          

Order: Carnivora

Family: Canidae                                                                    

Genus: Vulpes

The fennec fox is the world’s smallest fox and lives in the hot deserts of North Africa. This animal gets most of its water from solid food. Its body also ensures that the least amount of water is wasted. They are more active at night, when the temperature is much lower. Their large ears are used to detect the sounds made by prey, such as grasshoppers and other insects, in or on the sand. The ears also radiate excess body heat. Cream-colored fur helps keep the foxes well camouflaged against the sand when resting during the day. Fennec foxes are usually seen in pairs. During breeding season, females are very protective of their pups and will be very aggressive if anything threatens them.

A single cervical vertebrae is depicted above. Vertebrae are a series of individual bones/cartilage blocks that provide the length of the body with skeletal support. In between successive vertebrae are intervertebral fibrocartilage discs that serve allow each one slight movement, while preserving the integrity of the structure.

A vertebral column has 7 most anterior cervical vertebrae, 12 thoracic vertebrae, 5 lumbar vertebrae, a sacrum, and a vestigial coccyx (tailbone). The solid cylindrical body depicted above is termed the centrum, which encloses the notochord (absent in mature organisms of many lineages), dorsal neural arch (houses the spinal cord) and ventral hemal arch. Neural and hemal spines extend from both arches, respectively.

Photo Source: Gray’s Anatomy