Pokemon Special/Adventures Timeline

Ever since the HeartGold & SoulSilver chapter was revealed to come before the Diamond & Pearl chapter, the chronology of Pokemon Adventures/Special (from here on referred to as Special due to personal preference) has become a bit confusing. As such I saw it fitting to write a timeline of all the chapters to make things a little easier. Keep in mind that this is a general timeline. I will not be going into how many years have passed or anything like that, just the order of events. With that out of the way let’s get started.

  1. Red, Green & Blue: This is pretty self-explanatory. It is the first chapter of the manga.
  2. Yellow: It iis a clear sequel to Red, Green & Blue.
  3. Gold, Silver & Crystal: This is a clear sequel to Yellow.
  4. Ruby & Sapphire: Clearly takes place after Gold, Silver & Crystal due to Giovanni taking the remains of the Red and Blue Orbs at the end, which directly leads into FireRed & LeafGreen, which takes place when the characters are older than in Gold, Silver & Crystal.
  5. FireRed & LeafGreen: As previously stated, it’s a direct sequel to Ruby & Sapphire.
  6. Emerald: It is a clear sequel to FireRed & LeafGreen.
  7. HeartGold & SoulSilver: Based on characters’ ages it has to be after Emerald.
  8. X & Y: It comes after HeartGold & SoulSilver since Silver returned Rhyperior to Green.
  9. Omega Ruby & Alpha Sapphire: It comes after HeartGold & SoulSilver since Giovanni has reclaimed control of Team Rocket and it comes after X & Y since Diancie appears and moved from Kalos to Hoenn in one of the side chapters.
  10. Diamond & Pearl: It comes after Omega Ruby & Alpha Sapphire since a young Diamond and Pearl are seen briefly in that chapter.
  11. Platinum: This is a clear sequel to Diamond & Pearl.
  12. Black & White: It comes after Platinum since Caitlin has gained control of her psychic powers by the time of this chapter, something she was struggling with in Platinum.
  13. Black 2 & White 2: It is a clear sequel to Black & White.
  14. It is currently unknown when the Sun & Moon chapter takes place but at the very least it likely takes place after X & Y if Zygarde, Sina and Dexio appear at any point since they all go to Alola at the end of X & Y. If Red and Green appear in the chapter like they do in the games we might get more information.

And that’s the Pokemon Special timeline. I hope this is useful or interesting to someone.