River-Derwent

Kirkham Priory, North Yorkshire

The Augustinian priory was founded in the 1120s by Walter l'Espec, lord of nearby Helmsley, who also built Rievaulx Abbey. Legend has it that Kirkham was founded in remembrance of l'Espec’s only son who had died nearby as a consequence of his horse being startled by a boar.

More about Kirkham Priory…

DIG UNCOVERS ROMAN BUILDING

Grampus Heritage is leading the community excavation on land owned by Robert and Edmund Jackson.

Archaeologists found evidence of walls of a large Roman building, shards of pottery and metal objects.

The excavation is part of a development phase before the non-profit organisation puts in a full application bid in March for £200,000 to the Heritage Lottery to fund a three-year project.

The team hopes the project will build a picture of the Roman heritage along the banks of the River Derwent at Cockermouth and Papcastle.

Phase one of the bid has already been accepted, providing funding for six months and the cash was used for the two-week dig and a further six days of digging at an unconfirmed location, which will show the team where resources should be directed for the main project.

Archaeologist Mark Graham said: “It is too early to identify exactly what the building was used for but we have to ask ourselves was this a Roman bath house or could it have been used as a high status building for an official person in the town? Read more.

Bioluminescenze nel fiume Derwent, in Tazmania: uno spettacolo per noi uomini, ma mortali per gli animali e le piante che lo abitano. Se vuoi saperne di più..

River Derwent’s bioluminescence in Tazmania: a beautiful sight for human, but  deadly for the creatures that inhabit it.

Willersley Castle

The castle is a late 18th century country mansion situated above the River Derwent at Cromford, Derbyshire. Originally named “Willersley Hall,” it was built on the slopes of Wild Cat Tor, 400 feet above sea level, for the occupation of industrialist Sir Richard Arkwright by architect William Thomas. At the time of purchase there was no large house here, just a few farms and “Derwent House”, which still stands off the main drive.

In 1791, when the building was approaching completion, a fire broke out and damaged part of the interior of the castle. Although the damage was repaired, Arkwright died in 1792 before the building was completed. In 1796 his son, Richard Arkwright junior, moved in and the Arkwright family lived there until 1922.

The estate was bought in 1927 by a group of Methodist businessmen, and in 1928 it opened as a Methodist Guild holiday centre. Between 1940 and 1946, during World War II, it served as a maternity hospital run by the Salvation Army, having moved out of East London. Today it operates as a Christian Guild Hotel.