WHEN IN ROME: VISITING THE HOUSE OF LIVIA ON THE PALATINE HILL:
FIRST excavated in 1839, the house has been attributed to Livia on the basis of the name IVLIA AVG[VSTA] stamped on a lead pipe on display on the left-hand wall of the tablinum. The two-storey house, built around a central atrium, was decorated with advanced “Second Pompeian Style” wall paintings, reflecting the sophisticated taste of wealthy Romans. The remains of the house are reached by a sloping hallway whose floor is covered with a black and white geometric mosaic leading into a rectangular atrium.
The best preserved section of Livia’s House consists of a rectangular atrium and three relatively large adjoining rooms (atablinum and two side rooms). Each room was painted with a mythological subject and its floor decorated in black and white geometric mosaic.
Article and photos by Carole Raddato/Following Hadrian on AHE