The Johnstown Horror (The Great Flood of 1889); after the catastrophic failure of the South Fork Dam on the Little Conemaugh River, upstream of the town of Johnstown, Pennsylvania (Atlas Publishing Company), c. 1890.
WJAC-TV Channel 6 signed on in 1949 from Johnstown, Pennsylvania. It was the TV service of Johnstown Automotive Company, owner of WJAC Radio. It aired programming from all four networks in its early years. After DuMont folded and other stations signed on, WJAC was left as the NBC affiliate.
The automotive company sold WJAC-AM-FM-TV to the owner of The Tribune-Democrat newspaper in the 1960s. FCC regulations forced the owner to break up the paper and broadcast companies. The company sold the paper and held on to WJAC-TV until 1997. Today, the station is owned by Cox.
An editor’s note: For such a small-market station, WJAC-TV advertised heavily in Broadcasting magazine.