Ground war

news.yahoo.com
Obama vows U.S. will not fight another ground war in Iraq

President Barack Obama vowed on Wednesday the United States will not fight another ground war in Iraq, seeking to reassure Americans about the level of U.S. involvement after a top general suggested some combat troops could be deployed.

Obama, who has spent much of his presidency distancing himself from the Iraq war, stressed during a speech at MacDill Air Force Base in Tampa that airstrikes would be the central U.S. contribution to the fight against Islamic State, along with coordinating a coalition that he said now includes more than 40 countries.

“I want to be clear. The American forces that have been deployed to Iraq do not and will not have a combat mission,” Obama said.

His message came a day after General Martin Dempsey, chairman of the U.S. Joint Chiefs of Staff, left the door slightly ajar to the possibility of some ground forces during congressional testimony that worried some Democrats.

“As your commander in chief I will not commit you and the rest of our armed forces to fighting another ground war in Iraq,” Obama said.

anonymous asked:

Tony and Peter get into a prank war. After the Iron Man suit starts playing the collected works of Justin Bieber on loop, Tony gets his revenge by altering Peter's suit to be "more anatomically correct." Peter finds out that apparently his latest upgrade includes webs shooting from the butt when he ends up dangling from something on live television. Fury is not amused. Clint and Johnny are. Steve is very disappointed in both of them, Tony is supposed to be an adult and Peter should know better.

I’M CRYING

3

The game’s first stage, Ground Zero, is where you’ll start your adventure. A big city once stood here but now all that remains are desolate, robot-infested wastelands. The robots you fight out in the field are called Hunters. They’re tasked with finding and terminating humans. They’ll shoot on site, so be careful!

Defeating robots will net you gears, which you can collect and use as currency to buy new weapons, ammo and powerups! Robots will also periodically drop other things, like ammo and health.

A lot of the graphics aren’t final, so don’t be surprised if things change in future screenshots. We still have a long way to go!

War Is Hell, as the Greeks Well Knew

By Adam Driver (November 2008)

Seats were filled in the Stephanie P. McClelland Drama Theater one September afternoon by veterans of two worlds. Half the audience members were longtime veterans of the theater, mixed with the Juilliard Drama Division student body. The other half were veterans of war, from World War II to the present, mixed with a select group of students from the U.S. Military Academy at West Point. The equilibrium created the perfect audience to hear the latest translation of some 2,400-year-old Greek plays grounded in war …

Image (x)

☠–;;

i spent most of my time away thinking about motorcity
aus and my fave one i came up with was a peter pan
au because i mean… think about it

the burners all being around 10-12 years old. mike is peter,
dutch, chuck and texas are his lost boys. julie is wendy, of
course, but also captain hook (kane’s) daughter. SHE is the
one with tinkerbell instead of mike– and her tinkerbell is claire
ovo  (and tooley is smee, ofc)

also red is mike’s shadow. instead of running away from him,
he tries to constantly kill him. :0

- Railroad’s End -
Fallout 4

The Sole Survivor had reunited with his son; they discussed much, especially the motives and goals of the Institute. Above ground was only war, zealotry and ignorance - father and son concluded the best way forward was underground. Forging a second chance for humanity in the depths of the Institute. However progress was being blocked by a very stubborn terrorist organization and an army of armored fanatics…both would be dealt with. 

Daily Drawing Challenge 97: I’m a sequential artist and I hardly draw pages, thought I’d change that. Get some practice in. For those who don’t know, this is a plot point in Fallout 4 or my depiction of one. 

how do i comprehend everything i want to say to you? how do i comprehend my feelings for you? my love? i burned organizations to the ground; i started wars. for you. only for you. how do i comprehend that? you are more to me that can be described. you are more to me than could ever be understood. i love you is not enough, it’s never enough.

theverge.com
How to watch all the Star Wars Celebration panels, news, and interviews
External image

As you may have heard, people really like Star Wars — and ground zero for that hype is the annual Star Wars Celebration convention. This year’s event kicks off in London on Friday, July 15th with a murderer’s row of filmmakers, writers, actors, and behind-the-scenes personnel talking about the work creating the franchise. We’re expecting plenty of news and some new footage along the way, and thankfully you’ll be able to watch almost the entire thing live-streamed on the Star Wars website.

It kicks off Friday morning at 6AM ET / 3AM PT, with Mark Hamill discussing his life as Luke Skywalker, before Rogue One director Gareth Edwards takes the stage at 11AM ET / 8AM PT to discuss his upcoming film (I’m crossing my fingers for a look at Darth Vader’s return). Saturday will feature an assortment of different events, including discussions about Star Wars Rebels (11AM ET / 8AM PT) and insights from Industrial Light & Magic’s xLab virtual reality team (1PM ET / 11AM PT). On Sunday at 6AM ET / 3AM PT Carrie Fisher will discuss her career, and at 7AM ET / 4AM PT the Lucasfilm Story Group — the creative brain trust in charge of orchestrating the entire universe — will reveal some of its secrets. But perhaps the most exciting panel of all is not expected to be streamed online.


That’s a Sunday discussion with Episode VIII writer-director Rian Johnson and the directors of the young Han Solo movie, Phil Lord and Christopher Miller. Fortunately our own James Vincent will be on the ground in London to cover the panel and the rest of the show as it happens. Stay tuned to The Verge for coverage throughout the weekend, and check out the StarWars.com live stream schedule below.

Friday, July 15th

An Hour With Mark Hamill
11:30AM BST / 6AM ET / 3AM PT

Ahsoka’s Untold Tales
1PM BST / 8AM ET / 5AM PT

ILM Presents: Star Wars Archeology
2PM BST / 9AM ET / 6AM PT

Rogue One: A Star Wars Story panel with Gareth Edwards
4PM BST / 11AM ET / 8AM PT

Saturday, July 16th

Droids of The Force Awakens
10:15AM BST / 5:15AM ET / 2:15AM PT

The Creatures, Droids & Aliens of Star Wars: The Force Awakens
12PM BST / 7AM ET / 4AM PT

Keeping Up With The Fetts
1PM BST / 8AM ET / 5AM PT

Anthony Daniels, Without Protocol
2PM BST / 9AM ET / 6AM PT

Star Wars Rebels Season 3
4PM BST / 11AM ET / 8AM PT

Marvel’s Star Wars Comic Books
5PM BST / 12AM ET / 9AM PT

Meet ILMxLab: The Future of Immersive Entertainment
6PM BST / 1PM ET / 10AM PT

The Minds Behind EA’s Star Wars Games
7PM BST / 2PM ET / 11AM PT

Sunday, July 17th

2016 Star Wars Fan Film Awards Ceremony
10:15AM BST / 5:15AM ET / 2:15AM PT

Carrie Fisher: The Princess Diaries
11AM BST / 6AM ET / 3AM PT

Lucasfilm Story Group: The Art of Storytelling 
12PM BST / 7AM ET / 4AM PT

Ray Park Unleashed
1PM BST / 8AM ET / 5AM PT

Closing Ceremony
4PM BST / 11AM ET / 8AM PT

via http://ift.tt/oZfQdV
This rare colorized WW2 photo of US troops takes you to the frontlines of Nazi Germany

The following 1944 photo, colorized by Marina Amaral, shows two American GIs sitting next to a military vehicle in Nazi-occupied Geich, Germany.

The two soldiers from C Company, 36th Armored Infantry Regiment, 9th Infantry Division, smoke cigarettes while looking out at the war-torn city.

(Marina Amaral)

The 9th Infantry Division, nicknamed the “Old Reliables," was one of the first US Army combat units to fight on the ground during World War II. The unit saw a little more than 300 days of combat during the war.

See more of Marina Amaral's gorgeous colorized photos »

NOW WATCH: Inside a secret basement under Grand Central that was one of the biggest World War II targets



More From Business Insider
The Beauty of a Condition

Yes, the windows open
to a vista of clotheslines,
Garments hang, almost
running towards a horizon,
And the women offer their
sharp voices into the humid air,
Into which the birds have already
erected their kingdom -
I make my peace under a mango
tree, floating above ground
in the embrace of a hammock,
The ground is colored black,
rich soil of sugar cane and
starch fruits of tube roots,
On these grounds a civil war marched,
a masquerade paraded,
On these grounds small children
danced, and a matriarch dug
her own burial ground.