On this day in music history: July 28, 1979 - “Don’t Stop ‘Til You Get Enough” by Michael Jackson is released. Written by Michael Jackson, it is the first single issued from the landmark “Off The Wall” album. The melody for the song will come to Jackson while walking around the family home in Encino, CA in 1978. Enlisting the assistance of his brother Randy and sister Janet, they will help him record a demo of the song in their home studio. For the official studio recording of the track, producer Quincy Jones will assemble a crack team of A-list studio musicians which include Brothers Johnson bassist Louis Johnson, Rufus drummer John Robinson, guitarists David Williams and Marlo Henderson, keyboardist Greg Phillinganes, percussionist Paulinho DaCosta, and the Seawind Horns (Jerry Hey, Kim Hutchcroft, Bill Reichenbach, Gary Grant and Larry Williams). An instant classic upon its release, the record will mark the beginning of Michael Jackson’s meteoric rise to an unprecedented level of superstardom as an adult performer. “Don’t Stop” will hit #1 on the R&B singles chart (5 weeks) on September 8, 1979, and on the Billboard Hot 100 (1 week) on October 13, 1979, becoming Jackson’s second solo chart topper on the pop singles chart. “Don’t Stop 'Til You Get Enough” will also win Michael Jackson his first Grammy Award for Best Male R&B Vocal Performance in 1980. “Don’t Stop 'Til You Get Enough” is certified 2x Platinum in the US by the RIAA.