Before Midnight 2013

The shifting meaning of a moment—as it is anticipated and then experienced, as it is remembered or misremembered, as it gains or loses luster in a year, a decade, or more—is the existential question that animates the story of Jesse and Celine, which has now played out over three films spanning nearly two decades. Before Sunrise depicts the charmed brief encounter of this bright, self-conscious, hyperverbal, sometimes maddening, mostly endearing pair; Before Sunset (2004) stages the rueful deferred reunion that characters and viewers alike long yearned for; and Before Midnight (2013) catches up with them on the cusp of middle-aged domesticity, in medias res, as they go about the business of living.

The Before Trilogy: Time Regained

He appears, and he disappears, like a sunrise, or a sunset, or anything so ephemeral. Just like our life, we appear, and we disappear. We are so important to some, but we are just passing through.
—  Before Midnight (2013)

In the 87 years the Academy Awards have been giving out awards, only 8 women have ever won for Best Adapted Screenplay

  • Frances Marion - The Big House (1930)
  • Sarah Y Mason - Little Women (1933) with Victor Heerman
  • Claudine West - Mrs Miniver (1942) with Arthur Wimperis, George Froeschel, and James Hilton
  • Ruth Prawer Jhabvala - A Room With a View (1985)
  • Ruth Prawer Jhabvala - Howards End (1992)
  • Emma Thompson - Sense & Sensibility (1995)
  • Fran Walsh and Philippa Boyens - The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King (2003) with Peter Jackson
  • Diana Ossana - Brokeback Mountain (2005) with Larry McMurtry

The first time the category was awarded to a woman was in 1930 when Frances Marion won for The Big House. Of the 8 wins, 4 have been given to scripts written exclusively by women. Ruth Prawer Jhabvala has one the award twice, in 1986 and 1992. Only once have two women won - Fran Walsh and Philippa Boyens in 2003. The last time a woman won was Diana Ossana in 2005. The last time a woman was nominated was Julie Deply for Before Midnight in 2013. This year both Phyllis Nagy and Emma Donoghue have been nominated in the category for Carol and Room, respectively.