2014-debuts

OneFourKidLit Book Releases - Week of June 10

            

THE MURDER COMPLEX by Lindsay Cummings

An action-packed, blood-soaked, futuristic debut thriller set in a world where the murder rate is higher than the birthrate. For fans of Moira Young’s Dust Lands series, La Femme Nikita, and the movie Hanna.

Meadow Woodson, a fifteen-year-old girl who has been trained by her father to fight, to kill, and to survive in any situation, lives with her family on a houseboat in Florida. The state is controlled by The Murder Complex, an organization that tracks the population with precision.

The plot starts to thicken when Meadow meets Zephyr James, who is—although he doesn’t know it—one of the MC’s programmed assassins. Is their meeting a coincidence? Destiny? Or part of a terrifying strategy? And will Zephyr keep Meadow from discovering the haunting truth about her family?

Action-packed, blood-soaked, and chilling, this is a dark and compelling debut novel by Lindsay Cummings.

B&N | Amazon | IndieBound | Book Depository

HEXED by Michelle Krys

If high school is all about social status, Indigo Blackwood has it made. Sure, her quirky mom owns an occult shop, and a nerd just won’t stop trying to be her friend, but Indie is a popular cheerleader with a football-star boyfriend and a social circle powerful enough to ruin everyone at school. Who wouldn’t want to be her?

Then a guy dies right before her eyes. And the dusty old family Bible her mom is freakishly possessive of is stolen. But it’s when a frustratingly sexy stranger named Bishop enters Indie’s world that she learns her destiny involves a lot more than pom-poms and parties. If she doesn’t get the Bible back, every witch on the planet will die. And that’s seriously bad news for Indie, because according to Bishop, she’s a witch too.

Suddenly forced into a centuries-old war between witches and sorcerers, Indie’s about to uncover the many dark truths about her life—and a future unlike any she ever imagined on top of the cheer pyramid.

B&N | Amazon | IndieBound | Book Depository

MY LAST KISS by Bethany Neal

What if your last kiss was with the wrong boy? 

Cassidy Haines remembers her first kiss vividly. It was on the old covered bridge the summer before her freshman year with her boyfriend of three years, Ethan Keys. But her last kiss–the one she shared with someone at her seventeenth birthday party the night she died–is a blur. Cassidy is trapped in the living world, not only mourning the loss of her human body, but left with the grim suspicion that her untimely death wasn’t a suicide as everyone assumes. She can’t remember anything from the weeks leading up to her birthday and she’s worried that she may have betrayed her boyfriend. 

If Cassidy is to uncover the truth about that fateful night and make amends with the only boy she’ll ever love, she must face her past and all the decisions she made–good and bad–that led to her last kiss.

Bethany Neal’s suspenseful debut novel is about the power of first love and the haunting lies that threaten to tear it apart.

B&N | Amazon | IndieBound | Book Depository

DREAMWOOD by Heather Mackey

Lucy Darrington has no choice but to run away from boarding school. Her father, an expert on the supernatural, has been away for too long while doing research in Saarthe, a remote territory in the Pacific Northwest populated by towering redwoods, timber barons, and the Lupine people. But upon arriving, she learns her father is missing: Rumor has it he’s gone in search of dreamwood, a rare tree with magical properties that just might hold the cure for the blight that’s ravaging the forests of Saarthe.

Determined to find her father (and possibly save Saarthe), Lucy and her vexingly stubborn friend Pete follow William Darrington’s trail to the deadly woods on Devil’s Thumb. As they encounter Lupine princesses, giant sea serpents, and all manner of terrifying creatures, Lucy hasn’t reckoned that the dreamwood itself might be the greatest threat of all.

B&N | Amazon | IndieBound | Book Depository

Hullo from Heidi!

Hey, hey, hey! (I apologize for Fat Alberting you. Sometimes these things just come out.)

It’s my turn to introduce myself here:

I’m Heidi.

Five things you may not know about me:

  1. I can tie a balloon faster than anyone I’ve ever met. I don’t hold any official records but that is only because no one has ever dared to challenge me to an official competition. I picked up this skill when I was a teenage carnie.
  2. I was a teenage carnie, but only for a couple months. I lived in an RV in the “bone yard” (yes. It was really called that.) with a vegan runaway who was pretending to be 18 but was really 15. I truly was 18. It was a weird summer.
  3. I have a hidden compartment in my car. I keep snacks and kazoos in it.
  4. My favorite ice cream flavor is olive oil.
  5. I take terrible selfies.

One thing you probably do know:

  1. I wrote a book, Hook’s Revenge. It doesn’t come out until September, but you can order it now, if you like.

Want to know what it’s about? OKAY.

Twelve-year-old Jocelyn dreams of becoming every bit as daring as her infamous father, Captain James Hook. Her grandfather, on the other hand, intends to see her starched and pressed into a fine society lady. When she’s sent to Miss Eliza Crumb-Biddlecomb’s Finishing School for Young Ladies, Jocelyn’s hopes of following in her father’s fearsome footsteps are lost in a heap of dance lessons, white gloves, and way too much pink.

So when Jocelyn receives a letter from her father challenging her to avenge his untimely demise at the jaws of the Neverland crocodile, she doesn’t hesitate-here at last is the adventure she has been waiting for. But Jocelyn finds that being a pirate is a bit more difficult than she’d bargained for. As if attempting to defeat the Neverland’s most fearsome beast isn’t enough to deal with, she’s tasked with captaining a crew of woefully untrained pirates, outwitting cannibals wild for English cuisine, and rescuing her best friend from a certain pack of lost children, not to mention that pesky Peter Pan who keeps barging in uninvited. 

The crocodile’s clock is always ticking in Heidi Schulz’s debut novel, a story told by an irascible narrator who is both dazzlingly witty and sharp as a sword. Will Jocelyn find the courage to beat the incessant monster before time runs out?

My cover has not yet been revealed, though I have seen it and it is the most wonderful cover of all time. No, you’re biased!

Anyway, that’s me. If you want to, you know, hang out connect online sometime, come see me on my website or on twitter.

See you around!

youtube

[K-Much] 가물치(K-much) ‘뭣 모르고’ MV - Official

LIES WE TELL OURSELVES is out today!

OH HEY GUESS WHAT, Robin Talley’s incredible debut LIES WE TELL OURSELVES is out today! To celebrate, the ladies of the Fourteenery are here to confess (okay, sort of, anonymously confess) a collection of lies have told lately–to ourselves and to others. 

 

Cake is calorie free. I’ll just take a short little nap.  Just one more reblog… I’m going to get so much done today! I’d love to head up the PTA. I don’t miss it at all.  I’ll just have a bite. I’m definitely finishing this draft by the end of the month. I can’t. I didn’t mean to. My sister did it.  If I can just do/get ____, then I’ll be happy.  Nobody saw that.

 

NO LIES HERE, THOUGH: we love you, Robin, and we are so proud of your gorgeous, amazing, important debut. We can’t wait to share Sarah and Linda’s story with the rest of the world. 
The 100 Society

External image

How did I get it?:
Netgalley- thanks to Hatchette Children’s Books

Synopsis:

For sixth-form student Grace Becker, The 100 Society is more than just a game; it’s an obsession. Having convinced her five friends at Clifton Academy to see it through to the end, Grace will stop at nothing to carry out the rules of the game: tagging 100 locations around the city. With each step closer to the 100-mark…

View On WordPress

Made with WordPress
blog.heidischulzbooks.com
In the Middle with Laura Marx Fitzgerald

Come get In the Middle today with Laura Marx Fitzgerald…

External image

Lovely chat with Laura Marx Fitzgerald, author of UNDER THE EGG, on my blog today. I particularly enjoyed what she says about why she writes. Spoiler: Not because she has to. So interesting to see a perspective different from the one I see most often.

youtube

Look @ what I just found! Vromance singing GOT7′s A! One of my favorite GOT7 songs! 💓 (sound is a bit weird but you can still tell how good they are)

anonymous asked:

it doesnt matter that bp debuted .5 weeks ago. they achieved more than rv has in their whole career. they got over 3 million views in 24 hours on BOTH mvs & red velvet hasnt EVER let alone on their debut which didnt even get 500 thousand lmfao. they would have gotten even less if they didnt have racist references in it to gain attention. bp is gonna slay and get all the rookie awards this year and actually deserve them unlike rv who got them only because no one else good debuted in 2014.

are you fucking kidding me

In the Middle with Kate Hannigan

In the Middle with Kate Hannigan, author of CUPCAKE COUSINS

Prepare yourself for adorableness in this week’s In the Middle. Not only is Kate Hannigan’s Cupcake Cousins an adorable book, her childhood photo (in the interview below) is one of the cutest ever.

External image

Baking a fluffy pink cupcake is awesome, but wearing a dress that looks like one? No, thank you! Cousins Willow and Delia can’t wait to spend a week vacationing together with their families. Their…

View On WordPress

Made with WordPress
In the Middle with Jen Swann Downey

Hey, hey, hey! Today we are In the Middle with the hilarious Jen Swann Downey, debut author of The Ninja Librarians: The Accidental Keyhand. Take a look:

External image

When Dorrie and her brother Marcus chase Moe – an unusually foul-tempered mongoose–into the janitor’s closet of their local library, they make an astonishing discovery: the headquarters of a secret society of ninja librarians. Their mission:…

View On WordPress

Made with WordPress