Seven: “I was Goldust, and Goldust sucked!”
[November 8th, 1999]

In the early days of Goldust’s professional wrestling career, he was simply known in WCW as Dustin Rhodes, a good ol’ Southern boy much like Barry Windham and Tommy Rich of the past. During that time he had much success in the company, capturing the United States Championship, as well as multiple tag team championships with the likes of Ricky Steamboat and Barry Windham. In March of 1995, however, himself and The Blacktop Bully were fired from WCW for bleeding during the infamous King Of The Road match at Uncensored. With that, Rhodes left for the WWF where he became Goldust, the golden-clad, film obsessed “bizarre one”. While Goldust was anything but conventional, he became one of the most popular wrestlers in the company, as well as gaining a measure of success as the WWF Intercontinental Champion while being involved in feuds against the company’s top wrestlers.

In 1999, however, Goldust left the WWF after a good 4-year run with the company to return “home” to WCW, with the gimmick you see above where he was known as Seven. The character was based off of “the strangers” from the film Dark City, with vignettes airing that showed the character watching a child through the window of his home:

As creepy as it truly was, the gimmick had potential to become something like what Raven had done in the past, or an even more exaggerated cult-leader like Kevin Sullivan had done in the 1980s. Instead, the Turner company’s brass took a look at the gimmick and asked that it be re-worked, as it could be interpreted as a child abductor or molester. Shortly before the gimmick was set to debut, Vince Russo came to WCW and convinced Rhodes to change his gimmick and instead do a worked shoot against the idea, WCW, and his former role in the WWF. On November 8th, 1999, Seven debuted, and was gone. Rhodes instead began wrestling under his real name with the nickname “The American Nightmare”, a callback to father Dusty Rhodes’ nickname, and stayed with the company until it was purchased by Vince McMahon in March of 2001.