1987 8


The plan was to share the most heartstoppingly beautiful moments from the new Maurice Blu-ray … and there are so many, but this batch are more like Maurice: The Blooper Reel.


On this day in music history: August 8, 1987 - “The Pleasure Principle” by Janet Jackson hits #1 on the Billboard R&B singles chart, peaking at #14 on the Hot 100 on August 1, 1987, and topping the Club Play chart for 2 weeks on June 6, 1987. Written and produced by Monte Moir, it is fifth consecutive R&B chart topper from the “Control” album. While working with his former Time band mates Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis, Moir gives Janet a cassette demo of the song. She likes the track so much that she cuts the final version with him the next day at Jam & Lewis’ Flyte Tyme Studios in Minneapolis. Released as a single nearly a year and a half after “Control’s” initial release in May of 1987, the track receives an additional boost when it is remixed by prominent club DJ/remixer Shep Pettibone. This version is also used for the songs dynamic music video directed by Dominic Sena (“Rhythm Nation 1814” long form video), which wins an MTV Video Music Award for its choreographer Barry Lather, earning an additional nomination for Best Female Video.


On this day in music history: September 8, 1987 - “A Momentary Lapse Of Reason”, the thirteenth album by Pink Floyd is released (UK release is on September 7, 1987). Produced by Bob Ezrin and David Gilmour, it is recorded at the Astoria Houseboat Recording Studio in Hampton, Middlesex, UK, Britannia Row Studios in London, and A&M Studios in Hollywood, CA from October 1986 - May 1987. The project begins its life as David Gilmour’s third solo album, but evolves into a Pink Floyd album (the first without co-founder Roger Waters) after original members Nick Mason and Rick Wright are invited to participate in the sessions. It also features musical support from a number of guest musicians including Tony Levin (bass), Jim Keltner, Carmine Appice (drums), Tom Scott (saxophone), and Patrick Leonard (synthesizers). The album differs from previous Pink Floyd albums in that it does not follow a central theme or concept, and instead is simply a collection of unrelated songs. It spins off three singles including “Learning To Fly” (#70 Pop, #1 Mainstream Rock), and “On The Turning Away” (#1 Mainstream Rock). Following the release of “Reason”, former bassist and chief songwriter Roger Waters sues the others over what he feels is unauthorized use of the Pink Floyd name. He is unsuccessful in his attempt, and the band continue without him.  The album is most recently remastered and reissued on  CD in 2011, and as a 180 gram vinyl LP in 2016. “A Momentary Lapse Of Reason” peaks at number three on the Billboard Top 200, and is certified 4x Platinum in the US by the RIAA.


I made this set (last for this year) with underrated post punk bands. Hope you enjoy it! *Epitaph*
1. Middle Class - “A Skeleton At The Feast” [1982]
2. Garten Kirkhof - “Imprisoned Me” [1989]
3. Josef K - “Revelation” [1981]
4. Siekiera - “Juz Blisko” [1985]
5. 1919 - “Tear Down These Walls” [1982]
6. Luna - “Nestvarne Stvari” [1984]
7. My Dad Is Dead - “Like A Vise” [1987]
8. Nadja - “Forgotten Youth” [1984]
9. 餓鬼道 - “太陽のない街” [1985]
10. Scars - “Leave Me In Autumn” [1981]
11. El Último Eslabón - “Recuerdas” [1987]
12. The Bonaparte’s - “Women In Light” [1985]
13. UK Decay - “The Black Cat” [1980]
14. Siglo XX - “The Art of War” [1982]
15. Thelema - “Rosa Alchemica” [1985]
16. Suicide - “Darkness” [1985]
17. Deafear - “No Time” [1984]
18. Extraña Misión - “Abismos de Sentimientos” [1988]
19. Sa-Shem - “Suns Kiss Mothers” [1986]
20. Trivalia - “U Sobi" [1988]


On this day in music history: September 19, 1987 - “I Just Can’t Stop Loving You” by Michael Jackson & Siedah Garrett hits #1 on the Billboard Hot 100 for 1 week, also topping the R&B singles chart for 1 week on the same date.Written by Michael Jackson, it is the seventh number one solo single (eleventh, to date) for “The King Of Pop”. Issued as the first single from “Bad”, the song is initially pitched to Barbra Streisand and Whitney Houston, who both have to pass on recording the song due to prior recording commitments. Siedah Garrett comes to the studio, initially believing she is there to add overdubs to the song “Man In The Mirror” which she has co-written with fellow songwriter Glen Ballard. To her great surprise, producer Quincy Jones asks her to sing the duet with Michael. Released seven weeks ahead of the album on July 20, 1987, the single is an instant smash. Entering the Hot 100 at #37 on August 8, 1987, it leaps to the top of the chart six weeks later. Jackson and Garrett also record a Spanish language version of the song (titled “Todo Mi Amor Eres Tu” translated by Ruben Blades) that is released as a limited edition 12" single by CBS International’s Latin Music division. In 2012 to commemorate the twenty-fifth anniversary of the release of “Bad”, Wal-Mart reissues “I Just Can’t Stop Loving You” as an exclusive limited edition CD single (individually numbered) with the previously unreleased demo “Don’t Be Messin’ ‘Round”. A numbered limited edition replica of the original 7" single is also reissued along with a reproduction of the original picture sleeve artwork. “I Just Can’t Stop Loving You” is certified Gold in the US by the RIAA.


Top 10 achievements of the wonderful James Spader (in my humble opinion)

From the top..

10. Supernova (2000) - Nick Vanzant

 9. Mannequin (1987) - Richards

 8. Pretty in Pink (1986) - Steff

 7. Endless Love (1981) - Keith Butterfield

 6. White Palace (1990) - Max Baron

 5. Stargate (1994) - Dr Daniel Jackson

 4. Less than Zero (1987) - The ever sleazy Rip

 3. Sex, Lies, Videotape (1989) - Graham Dalton

 2. Secretary (2002) - Mr. Grey

 1. Crash (1996) - James Ballard


On this day in music history: August 8, 1987 - “I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For” by U2 hits #1 on the Billboard Hot 100 for 2 weeks. Written by U2, it is the second chart topping single for the rock band from Dublin, Ireland. The song originates as a demo recording built up from a drum pattern created by drummer Larry Mullen, Jr.. Lyrically, much of the song is influenced by gospel music that Bono is listening to at the time, and begins writing the lyrics based on themes of questioning personal faith, and looking for spiritual enlightenment. From there, guitarist The Edge comes up with the songs main chord sequence, with the rest of song coming together in short order. The track is recorded at Danesmoate House just outside of Dublin, an 18th century Georgian styled home, and the former residence of Irish politician William Southwell (now owned by U2 bassist Adam Clayton).  Initially, “I Still Haven’t Found” wasn’t in the running for release as a single. The band had originally intended “Red Hill Mining Town” to be issued as the follow up to “With Or Without You”. They change their minds when they are unhappy with the music video shot for “Red Hill”, and also end up dropping the song from the upcoming “Joshua Tree Tour” when Bono has difficulty singing the song in pre-tour rehearsals. A video for “I Still Haven’t Found” is quickly shot on the Fremont Street casino strip in Las Vegas in one evening (on April 12, 1987) with director Barry Devlin, after a concert performance in the city. The single is released as the follow up to their first chart topper “With Or Without You” on May 25, 1987. Entering the Hot 100 at #51 on June 13, 1987, it climbs to the top of the chart eight weeks later. “I Still Haven’t Found What I’m Looking For” receives Grammy nominations for both Record and Song Of The Year in 1988.