Toledo, Ohio. Boody House, Saint Claire and Madison Streets, circa 1900.
Named for Wabash Railroad President Azariah Boody, Boody House opened in June, 1872. Its 133 rooms each had a fire place and hot and cold running water, a rarity at the time. Boody House also claimed to have the only elevator between Chicago and Buffalo and was the site of the first functioning telephone in Toledo.
After weeks of research and hundreds of person hours at Once Upon a Town offices, we can, with some authority say that this was the origin of the term “Boody Call.” The hotel was demolished in 1928.