1292 bc

Horemheb (sometimes spelled Horemhab or Haremhab and meaning Horus is in Jubilation) was the last pharaoh of the 18th Dynasty of Egypt. He ruled from either 1319 BC to late 1292 BC, or 1306 to late 1292 BC (since he ruled for 14 years) although he was not related to the preceding royal family and is believed to have been of common birth.

Before he became pharaoh, Horemheb was the commander in chief of the army under the reigns of Tutankhamun and Ay. After his accession to the throne, he reformed the Egyptian state and it was under his reign that official action against the preceding Amarna rulers began. Due to this, he is considered the man who restabilized his country after the troublesome and divisive Amarna Period.

Horemheb demolished monuments of Akhenaten, reusing their remains in his own building projects, and usurped monuments of Tutankhamun and Ay. Horemheb presumably remained childless since he appointed his vizier Paramesse as his successor, who would assume the throne as Ramesses I.

Egyptian Wood Ushabti of Ramses IV, New Kingdom, 20th Dynasty, C. 1153-1147 BC

Ramses IV, Ramses also spelled Ramesses or Rameses (died 1150 BC), was a king of ancient Egypt (r. 1156–50 BC) who strove through extensive building activity to maintain Egypt’s prosperity in an era of deteriorating internal and external conditions.

Keep reading

Standing graywacke statue of Amun, preserved from the knees up. 


Period: New Kingdom

Late Eighteenth Dynasty

Early Nineteenth Dynasty

Date Made: 1332-1292 BC

Penn Museum

♛ HISTORY MEME ♛ [3/3] DYNASTIES: The Eighteenth Dynasty of Egypt

The Eighteenth Dynasty of ancient Egypt (notated Dynasty XVIII) (1543–1292 BC) is perhaps the best known of all the dynasties of ancient Egypt. It is often combined with Dynasties XIX and XX to form the New Kingdom period of ancient Egyptian history.

The pharaohs of Dynasty XVIII ruled for approximately two hundred and fifty years (c. 1550–1298 BC). Many of the pharaohs were buried in the Valley of the Kings in Thebes.

As well as Tutankhamen, famous pharaohs of Dynasty XVIII include Hatshepsut (1479 BC–1458 BC), longest-reigning queen-pharaoh of an indigenous dynasty, and Akhenaten (1353–1336 BC/1351–1334 BC), the “heretic pharaoh”, with his queen, Nefertiti. [x]