Well, um, it’s like chat. You send some characters to another user, they read them, and maybe they send some characters back to you. You do this enough and it’s called communicating. Communicating, or “messaging,” has been around for centuries. This is just our take on it.
That’s easy. Just look for this guy:
From the app:
From the web:
Think of Fan Mail like a shoebox where you keep your old love letters. They’re still there (under the envelope on the web, and under blog info on mobile) but if you want to respond, it’ll start a new messaging conversation.
Pretty much anyone. It’s really up to the receiver—they have all the control. If they want to accept messages from everyone on Tumblr, then you can message them. If they only accept messages from Tumblrs they follow (see next question), you have to get them to follow you first.
For example, let’s say @cheezbag follows @pocketcheez, but @pocketcheez isn’t following back. It’s a one-way follow.
A couple other caveats: You can’t message group blogs (not yet, anyway) or anyone who’s blocked you (obviously).
Just go to blog settings and flip the “Only allow messages from Tumblrs I follow” switch. Now Tumblrs you don’t follow won’t be able to start conversations with you. Presumably the people you do follow aren’t jerks.
You can also block users individually but that will prevent them from interacting with you or your posts in any way.
No, that’s not a thing. But you can block anyone who’s being a tool.
Asks are more of a one-off Q&A, not a two-way conversation like messaging. And unlike messages, Asks can be published to a blog and reblogged by other users.
As the asker (the sender) you can choose to submit a question as yourself or as an anonymous phantom. As the askee (the receiver) you can choose to respond publicly (by publishing to your blog) or privately.
One quirk: You can only respond to anonymous asks publicly, since we don’t know who sent it.
You can send up to 10 Asks per hour, and only five of those can be anonymous.
This feature allows other users to submit posts to your blog(s). Whether or not you publish them is up to you.
Assuming that the blog has those things turned on:
In the app: Go to the account tab (the human), then tap the human next to your Tumblr and choose “Asks, Fan Mail, and Submissions”
On the web: Click the envelope in the top right.
Probably! Most themes automatically detect when you turn on Asks and Submissions. But if you know that you turned them on and you’re not seeing them, go to tumblr.com/customize to find the right switches.
If you enable any of these features and the links do not appear on your blog automatically, you’ll need to manually add the links to your blog’s description.
<a href="/ask">Ask me Stuff!</a>
Existing replies are still there in post notes, right where you left them. The ability to reply will be back soon, and better than ever.
Simple: Block the person who's sending them. You can do so from a number of places within Tumblr.
(Note that if you got an anonymous ask, it isn’t associated with any particular account, which means you can’t really block the person that sent it. You can, however, permanently block the IP address the ask came from. Any further anonymous asks sent from that address will never see the inside of your ask box. FYI: There’s no way to unblock an anonymous IP address. Additionally, the person sending unwanted anonymous asks could still send you anonymous asks from another IP address. If you’re receiving these anonymous asks from multiple IP addresses, you can disable anonymous asks or even disable the Ask feature entirely in your blog settings. If you need help with any aspect of Asks, check out this help doc!)
Just a note for anyone with secondary blogs: when you block someone, you'll be blocking them from a specific blog on your account, not all of them. If you want to block someone from all of your blogs, then you'll have to add them to each block list.
Probably not. We don't tell people when you block them, but they might figure it out on their own if they visit your website, try to reblog one of your posts, say, and are prevented from doing so.
Yup. Just head into the settings for the blog you want to hide from public view and turn off the switch that says "Show this blog on the web." Your followers will still be able to see your posts in their dashboards, but anyone who tries to go to your blog at its URL will need to sign up and/or log into Tumblr to see it.
Tip: This may be especially useful if you're worried about someone you block visiting your URL and reading your posts that way (blogs are, by default, public, and stuff you post can be seen by the public at large—even if they're blocked from interacting with it).
These are the most common reasons: