Account Management

Basics


How do I change the password for my account?

  1. Click "Settings" under the Account menu at the top of the Dashboard.
  2. Update your password in the Password section. Click "Save.”

How do I reset my password?

Just head over to our password reset page, and request a new one. It may take up to 10 minutes to receive an email from us.

If you try a few times and still aren't receiving anything, have a look at our help section addressing “What if I haven’t received a password reset email?” for tips on how to fix the problem.

Where can I view or change my email address?

From the web:

  1. Click "Settings" under the Account menu at the top of the Dashboard.
  2. To the right of your email address, click the pencil icon.
  3. Update the email address and confirm your password.
  4. Save your changes.

In the apps:

  1. Go to the Account tab by tapping the Account icon (looks like a person's silhouette).
  2. Tap "Settings."
  3. The email address is right near the Log Out button.

Note: You can't make changes to it from the app at this time, but you can do so from your computer or from a mobile browser.

How do I change my account's default language?

  1. Click "Settings" under the Account menu at the top of the Dashboard.
  2. Update your preferred language in the Language section.

How do I request a new feature?

Is there something you’d like to see on Tumblr, but doesn't exist yet? Click on the Contact Support link below, select “Feature request” for your category, and tell us about this thing. We can’t guarantee that everything you wish for will be granted (no ponies, no more-wishes), but we will definitely share your ideas with the rest of the team.

 

Managing Your Email Address


What if I’m not sure which email account I signed up with?

  • Search your email accounts for messages that come from @tumblr.com — noreply@tumblr.com, notification@tumblr.com, or support@tumblr.com.
  • If you have an email address that works under multiple domains (e.g. @gmail.com/@googlemail.com, @aol.com/@aim.com, @me.com/@mac.com), try logging in with each of the domains your email address supports.

What if I know the email account I signed up with but don’t have access to it?

And you tried everything, huh? Well, your best bet at this point is to look into any resources your email provider offers to those who have lost touch with themselves.

If you no longer have access to the email that you used to register your Tumblr account and the recovery resources above don’t help, we unfortunately don’t have a way to verify that you’re the owner, and we don’t give out login information to anyone besides the owner. It’s a bummer, but don’t stress too much. You can always create a new account and start having fun all over again.

 

Deleting Your Account


How do I delete my entire account?

Hopefully this is just a hypothetical. Hypothetically, you would just go to your primary blog's settings page or your account settings page and hit the "delete account" button at the bottom of the page. Be aware: 

  • Your primary blog will be deleted. If TFA has been enabled for your account, you will be required to input the code.
  • Your secondary blogs that you are the only member of will be deleted, and you'll be removed from any group blogs you are a member of.
  • Your blog URL will be released, and can be used by anyone who's looking to create a blog.
  • You can create a new account using the same email address you used last time. Hey, go for it.

How do I delete or leave a secondary / group blog?

  • Click "Settings" under the Account menu at the top of the Dashboard, then click the name of blog you'd like to delete or leave on the right side of the page (or if you're in the mobile app, swipe left on the blog name).
  • If you’re the only member of the blog, you’ll see a “Delete blog” button at the bottom of the screen. Click this and the blog will be deleted from Tumblr and its URL will be released for anyone to use.
  • If there’s at least one remaining member of the blog, you’ll see a “Leave blog” button at the bottom of the screen. Click this and you will be removed from the blog. If you were the only blog Admin, another member will be automatically promoted to Admin. Learn more about administering group blogs here.

 

Application Access


There are hundreds of Tumblr-compatible applications and websites. Some of them require extra permission to create posts or access features like your Dashboard, your likes, and who you’re following. Should this be the case, you'll be prompted to "Grant this application access” when you connect it to your Tumblr account.

Permission will either be for read and write or read access. Read and write access permits the application or website to create and edit posts for you.

You can revoke access at any time from your Settings page in the Apps area. Since we didn't build (and don't have access to) these applications, we cannot provide support for them, and you should only grant permission to apps you trust. Please contact their creators with any support inquiries.