Turkey Trot Texas Scramble. 

The final team competition of a memorable 2014 at Cleobury Mortimer saw 14 teams contest the annual Turkey Trot Texas AM. This unique competition gives the winners vouchers to be used at the local butchers and go towards their Christmas dinner! There were some great teams on paper, however a hard frost overnight certainly made it more favourable for the afternoon starters.

Ian Baker, Dan Berwick, Phil Baker and Richard Kimberlain topped the leader board early on with a great score of 88 in their first CMGC competition. The formidable foursome of Stu Humphries, Ross Moorecroft, Rob Winnall and Dave Siddons continued their form with 92 points to lead most of the day. Paul Jones, Jem Jones and Ian Downes also shot 92 points to take the lead on count back which was a stunning effort considering they were a man down. That was until the Captains team came in, Jon Gaskell (captain) Ian Pringle, Gary Hawes and Dave Moore shot an incredible 96 points to win the Turkey! What was also incredible is that Dave Moore was spotted on Broad Street at 3.30am the night before so did really well to make his tee time and play as well as he did! Captain Jon had this to say

'we all played some great golf out there today, the course was in great condition and we had some great laugh, well done the team'. 

Director of golf Dave Pain added ‘it really was a great performance by the team in tough conditions. I must also commend Paul, Ian and Jem for their performance with just three of them. It is competitions like this that the Cleobury membership is all about fun, competitive, great scoring and everyone enjoying each others company in the clubhouse after’.

A massive thank you to everyone that played. 

Nearest the pin winners - Andy Johnson and Rob Pinner 

Winners pictured from left - Ian Pringle, Gary Hawes, Dave Moore and Jon Gaskell