12 houses in Vedic astrology and their meanings

In the Vedic system, the signs of 30 degrees each are used as each of the 12 Houses.

The complete sign of the Ascendant is used as the 1st House, so if one has 13 degrees 20 minutes of Leo rising, then the whole sign of Leo is the 1st House, the complete sign of Virgo constitutes the 2nd House and so on.

"All spiritual teachings are only meant to make us retrace our steps to our Original Source. We need not acquire anything new, only give up false ideas and useless accretions. Instead of doing this, we try to grasp something strange and mysterious because we believe happiness lies elsewhere. This is a mistake."   — Ramana Maharshi

Ten Vedic Restraints - YAMA

  • Yama 1 - Noninjury, Ahimsa

Practice noninjury, not harming others by thought, word or deed, even in your dreams. Live a kindly life, revering all beings as expressions of the One Divine energy. Let goof fear and insecurity, the sources of abuse. Knowing that harm caused to others unfailingly returns to oneself, live peacefully with God’s creation. Never be a source of dread, pain or injury. Follow a vegetarian diet.

  • Yama 2 - Truthfulness, Satya

Adhere to truthfulness, refraining from lying and betraying promises. Speak only that which is true, kind, helpful and necessary. Knowing that deception creates distance, don’t keep secrets from family or loved ones. Be fair, accurate and frank in discussions, a stranger to deceit. Admit your failings. Do not engage in slander, gossip or backbiting. Do not bear false witness against another.

  • Yama 3 - Nonstealing, Asteya

Uphold the virtue of nonstealing, neither thieving, coveting nor failing to repay debt.Control your desires and live within your means. Do not use borrowed resources for unintended purposes or keep them past due. Do not gamble or defraud others. Do not renege on promises. Do not use others’ names, words, resources or rights without permission and acknowledgement.

  • Yama 4 - Divine Conduct, Brahmacharya

Practice divine conduct, controlling lust by remaining celibate when single and faithful in marriage. Before marriage, use vital energies in study, and after marriage in creating family success. Don’t waste the sacred force by promiscuity in thought, word or deed. Be restrained with the opposite sex. Seek holy company. Dress and speak modestly. Shun pornography, sexual humor and violence.

  • Yama 5 - Patience, Kshama

Exercise patience, restraining intolerance with people and impatience with circumstances. Be agreeable. Let others behave according to their nature, without adjusting to you. Don’t argue, dominate conversations or interrupt others. Don’t be in a hurry. Be patient with children and the elderly. Minimize stress by keeping worries at bay. Remain poised in good times and bad.

  • Yama 6 - Steadfastness, Dhriti

Foster steadfastness, overcoming nonperseverance, fear, indecision and changeableness. Achieve your goals with a prayer, purpose, plan, persistence and push. Be firm in your decisions. Avoid sloth and procrastination. Develop willpower, courage and industriousness.Overcome obstacles. Never carp or complain. Do not let opposition or fear of failure result in changing strategies.

  • Yama 7 - Compassion, Daya

Practice compassion, conquering callous, cruel and insensitive feelings toward all beings. See God everywhere. Be kind to people, animals,plants and the Earth itself. Forgive those who apologize and show true remorse. Foster sympathy for others’ needs and suffering. Honor and assist those who are weak, impoverished, aged or in pain. Oppose family abuse and other cruelties.

  • Yama 8 - Honesty, Arjava

Maintain honesty, renouncing deception and wrongdoing. Act honorably even in hard times. Obey the laws of your nation and locale. Pay your taxes. Be straightforward in business. Do an honest day’s work. Do not bribe or accept bribes. Do not cheat, deceive or circumvent to achieve an end. Be frank with yourself. Face and accept your faults without blaming them on others.

  • Yama 9 - Moderate Appetite, Mitahara

Be moderate in appetite, neither eating too much nor consuming meat, fish, shellfish or fowl. Enjoy fresh, wholesome vegetarian foods that vitalize the body. Avoid junk food. Drink non-alcoholic beverages. Eat at regular times, only when hungry, at a moderate pace, never between meals, in a disturbed atmosphere or when upset. Follow a simple diet, avoiding rich or fancy fare.

  • Yama 10 - Purity, Saucha

Uphold the ethic of purity, avoiding impurity in mind, body and speech. Maintain a clean, healthy body. Keep a pure, uncluttered home and workplace. Act virtuously. Keep good company, never mixing with adulterers, thieves or other impure people. Keep away from pornography and violence. Never use harsh, angered or indecent language. Worship devoutly. Meditate daily.


Dattatreya (दत्तात्रेय), Dattātreya or Sri Datta; ஸ்ரீ தத்தாத்ரேயர். ശ്രീ ദത്താത്രേയന്‍. ಶ್ರೀ ದತ್ತಾತ್ರೇಯ ಸ್ವಾಮಿ. శ్రీ దత్తాత్రేయ స్వామి. श्री दत्तात्रेय. શ્રી દત્તાત્રેય . श्री दत्तात्रेय. ශ්‍රී දත‍්තාත්‍රෙ‍්ය. (Hindu deity encompassing the trinity of Brahma, Vishnu and Shiva).

Ahimsa - non violence compassion for all living things #ahimsa #nonviolence #love #peace #affirmation #spiritual #spirituality #spiritualwisdom #spiritualhealing #spiritualawakening #spiritualawareness #spiritualaffirmation #sanskrit #buddhism #hinduism #vedic #yoga #yamas #patanjali #namaste