The Week on Instagram | 178


Get Involved

Around the Community


Ribbon seal (Histriophoca fasciata)

The ribbon seal is a medium-sized pinniped from the true seal family (Phocidae). A seasonally ice-bound species, it is found in the Arctic and Subarctic regions of the North Pacific Ocean, notably in the Bering Sea and Sea of Okhotsk. It is distinguished by its striking coloration, with two wide white strips and two circles against dark brown or black fur. The ribbon seal can grow about 1.6 m long. The diet of ribbon seal consists almost exclusively of pelagic creatures: fish like pollocks, eelpouts, the Arctic Cod and cephalopods such as squid and octopus; young seals eat crustaceans as well.

photo credits: jomilo75, wiki, animalworld


The Weddell Seal

Weddell Seals are true seals, belonging to the group known as Phocidae. They are the most southerly breeding mammal in the world (aside from potential humans), and they are the most well known of the Antarctic seals. They are large, reaching around 3 meters in length and weighing up to half a tonne. The Weddell Seal is a very vocal species - (they sound a little like Darth Vader to me sometimes); even while standing on sea ice several meters thick, you can occasionally hear them underwater below you.

Keep reading

Components of Sigillum Dei Aemeth.

The Sigillum Dei Aemeth, or Seal of the Truth of God, is most widely known through the writings and artifacts of John Dee. Dee’s system of angelic magic, known as Enochian, is heavily rooted in the number seven, a number which is also strongly connected with the seven traditional planets of astrology. As such, the Sigillum Dei Aemeth is primarily constructed of heptagrams (seven-pointed stars) and heptagons (seven-sided polygons).

The Outer Ring
The Outer ring contains the names of seven angels, each associated with a planet. To find a name, start with a capitalized letter on the ring. If there is a number over it, count that many letters clockwise. If there is a number under it, count that many letters counterclockwise. Continuing the procedure will spell out the names:
Thaaoth - Mars
Galaas - Saturn
Gethog - Jupiter
Horlwn - Sun
Innon - Venus
Aaoth - Mercury
Galethog - Luna
These are the Angels of Brightness, who comprehend the seven “inward powers of God, known to none but himself.”

Inside the outer ring are seven symbols based on the letters forming “Galethog,” with “th” being represented by a single sigil. The name can be read counter-clockwise. These seven sigils are the “Seats of the One and everlasting GOD. His 7 secret Angels proceeding from every letter and cross so formed: referring in substance to the FATHER: in form, to the SON: and inwardly to the HOLY GHOST.”

The Outer Heptagon
The names of the “Seven Angels who stand before the presence of God,” each also associated with a planet, were written vertically into a 7-by-7 grid. By reading the grid horizontally, you get the seven names listed in the outer heptagon. The seven original names were:
Zaphkiel - Saturn
Zadkiel - Jupiter
Cumael - Mars
Raphael - Sun
Haniel - Venus
Michael - Mercury
Gabriel - Moon

The Central Structures (D. E. F. G. and H.)
The next five levels are all based off of another 7-by-7 grid of letters. Each is read in a different direction. The letters are names of more planetary spirits, originally written in a zigzag pattern, starting in the upper left corner (the “el” of each name was removed in the creation of the grid):
Sabathiel - Saturn
Zedekieiel - Jupiter
Madimiel - Mars
Semeliel - Sun
Nogahel - Venus
Corabiel - Mercury
Levanael - Moon
The names between the outer heptagon and heptagram are constructed by reading the grid horizontally. They are the “Names of God, not known to the Angels; neither can be spoken nor read of man.”
The names within the points of the heptagram are the Daughters of Light. The names within lines of the heptagram are the Sons of Light. The names within the two central heptagons are the Daughters of the Daughters and the Sons of the Sons.

The Pentagram
The planetary spirits are repeated around the pentagram. The letters spelling out Sabathiel (with the final “el” again removed) are scattered around the outside. The next five spirits are spelled out closer to the center, with the first letter of each name within a point of the pentagram. Levanael is at the very center, surrounding a cross, a common symbol of earth.