This Will Destroy You — I Believe in Your Victory

I’ve had a little headache this morning, so I’ve been listening to some post-rock from my Chilli Chill playlist. And when this one started playing I thought it really was the perfect time to listen to it.

This Will Destroy You (@twdyis a post-rock band from Texas that were formed ten years ago.

They usually have guitars as their main instruments and the guitars here basically destroyed me (hehe). I find this piece utterly beautiful, kinda sad at first, like if something was breaking, then silence, and then it all goes up. It’s not sad anymore and you’re running to the hills and far away, sun kissing your skin, breeze blowing wind through your hair… Freedom.

I don’t know guys, that’s what came in my mind when I listened I Believe in Your Victory, you know I love imagining things while I listen to post-rock.

Hope you have a great day,


The Guardian is currently streaming ALL of GY!BE’s new album, “Asunder, Sweet and Other Distress“ through Soundcloud. If you don’t go check it out right now, you are wasting your time. Below is what The Guardian had to say about the release.

It’s a rare group that makes a point of noting their new LP is a single album, but that’s what Godspeed You! Black Emperor are doing with their new album, Asunder, Sweet and Other Distress – which they observe is their first single album since their earliest days.

With four tracks, and clocking in at a shade over 40 minutes, this is not exactly a poptastic version of Godspeed, but it’s a more focussed version of the Canadian postrock giants than we’re used to. Some phrases from the press release should give you an idea of what to expect: “Huge unison riffage, savage noise/drone, oscillating overtones, guitar vs. string counterpoint, inexorable crescendos and scorched-earth transitions”. If you’re still thinking that maybe there’s a hitherto concealed Carly Rae Jepsen influence, let us note only that the final song is called Piss Crowns Are Trebled.

Will you be left recoiling in awe at the sheer majesty of these songs, left flattened by the avalanche force of 297 guitars? Have a listen and let us know what you think.

And here are links to the individual songs:
Peasantry, or ‘Light! Inside of Light! (10:28) (Previously known as Behemoth)
Lambs’ Breath (9:52)
Asunder, Sweet (6:13)
Piss Crowns Are Trebled (13:50)

You can pre-order Godspeed’s 6th album directly from Constellation Records if you live in Canada, or from a massive number of other distributors available on Constellation’s page for the album, which releases on March 31st. 

Godspeed will tour through Europe the entire month after the release. A list of tour dates is available here on Constellation’s Website.