Moment by Moment

There is no point in living for the moment, the moment is indifferent. There is no need to try to live in the moment, that is where you live anyway. You also live in your body. You don’t have to try to live in your body, that’s where you live.  You may want to get out of your body as it can be a rather confining space. It is even more confining to just live in your head. Compared to the spaciousness of your body, your head is rather small. This moment that you live in is smaller still. In this tiny moment it’s not so hard to live in your head or in your whole body. In this moment, you have everything you need. It’s only when you stretch the moment out and imagine what might happen or what happened in other moments, that it becomes difficult to live in your head and body.

When you find yourself in a difficult stretch of time you start looking for some escape. There is no escape. All you can do is transform. As this moment becomes the next moment everything changes. In that change there is the opportunity for transformation. If you are sick of living in your head, then you move into your body. When you breath in consciously you are out of your head and into your lungs. Your lungs can expand with your awareness. As you fill your lungs with air you transform the moment. Your body has changed, it has fresh new air. You can breathe out what was once you and breath in again.

Each moment is an opportunity for creating space in your body, in your head, in your life. The size of a moment and the space in your head is infinite. Your body is your gateway to that infinite time and space. It’s where you live, moment by moment.

My Personal Creed

 Buddhism is a large and varied tradition followed by half a billion people and encompassing half of the world. It has many traditions and if anything it is more diverse and fractured than Christianity or Islam. The main difference is that they did not try to convert each other at the point of a sword or the muzzle of a gun. Nobody can follow all of the tenets of all the traditions because many of them are contradictory. The Buddha said that we must each question the teachings and reject those portions which we find objectionable. I am a bit of an apostate even within my own lineage. So, I feel it is necessary to state just was I do believe and what I reject.

  • I reject the idea of transmigration of individual souls.
  • I reject the idea of heavens, hells, pure lands, ghosts, gods or demons.
  • I reject the worship of Bodhisattvas.
  • I reject any attempt to worship the Buddha as a deity.
  • I reject any part of the teachings referencing the supernatural.
  • I reject any part of the teachings which contradict proven scientific fact.
  • I reject the idea of karma as a punishing force.
  • I believe that enlightenment is available to everybody and in this lifetime.
  • I reject the doctrine of personal transmission of enlightenment from master to student.
  • I accept without question the Four Noble Truths.
  • I accept without question the Precepts as my moral code.
  • I accept the principle of nonviolence.
  • I accept the principle of ahimsa.
  • I believe that living life in loving kindness and compassion is key to happiness.

Believe nothing merely because you have been told it. Do not believe what your teacher tells you merely out of respect for the teacher. But whatsoever, after due examination and analysis, you find to be kind, conducive to the good, the benefit, the welfare of all beings - that doctrine believe and cling to, and take it as your guide.

Siddhartha Gautama, the Buddha

๑ Samsaran ๑

anonymous asked:

My father has emotionally abused me since I was 6 (thats as far as I can remember). He's sneaky and likes to bait me so that his attacks can be blamed on me. I need to suffer through until I can move out for college. I need to keep my cool, and remember its not mu fault. Any techniques to do this?

TW: Abuse

Hi Anon,

I’m so sorry that you’re in such a difficult spot. I know what that feels like. I hope these tips help you some:


DBT resources



Don’t let others box you into their idea of what they think you should be. A confined identity is a miserable way to exist. Be you and live free. Trust that in living true to yourself, you will attract people that support and love you, just as you are.
—  Jaeda DeWalt
Buddhism Summarized

I’ve posted this before but I thought it might be helpful to some of the new people if I posted it again. Sam.


Sila: Virtue, good conduct, morality.

Samadhi: Concentration, meditation, mental development. Developing one’s mind is the path to wisdom which in turn leads to personal freedom. Mental development also strengthens and controls our mind; this helps us maintain good conduct.

Prajna: Discernment, insight, wisdom, enlightenment. This is the real heart of Buddhism. Wisdom will emerge if your mind is pure and calm.


Dukkha: Suffering exists:(Suffering is real and almost universal. Suffering has many causes: loss, sickness, pain, failure, the impermanence of pleasure.)

Samudaya: There is a cause for suffering.(It is the desire to have and control things. It can take many forms: craving of sensual pleasures; the desire for fame; the desire to avoid unpleasant sensations, like fear, anger or jealousy.)

Nirodha: There is an end to suffering. (Suffering ceases with the final liberation of Nirvana (a.k.a. Nibbana). The mind experiences complete freedom, liberation and non-attachment. It lets go of any desire or craving.)

Magga: In order to end suffering, you must follow the Eightfold Path.


Panna: Discernment, wisdom:

1) Samma ditthi: Right Understanding of the Four Noble Truths

2) Samma sankappa: Right thinking; following the right path in life

Sila: Virtue, morality:

3) Samma vaca: Right speech: no lying, criticism, condemning, gossip, harsh language

4) Samma kammanta Right conduct by following the Five Precepts

5) Samma ajiva: Right livelihood; support yourself without harming others

Samadhi: Concentration, meditation:

6) Samma vayama Right Effort: promote good thoughts; conquer evil thoughts

7) Samma sati Right Mindfulness: Become aware of your body, mind and feelings

8) Samma samadhi Right Concentration: Meditate to achieve a higher state of consciousness

The Five Precepts:

Do not kill.

Do not steal.

Do not lie.

Do not misuse sex.

Do not consume alcohol or other drugs.

Remember Buddhism does not command.

Whenever a physical illness arises, we usually multiply our suffering by worrying and by pressing…

Whenever a physical illness arises, we usually multiply our suffering by worrying and by pressing mental anxiety on top of it. One should understand that the human body is a composite of elements and agents that constantly are struggling with one another. When these elements and agents fall into disharmony or when external factors such as the many types of evil powers are affected, the various diseases naturally arise with intensity and for long period of time. Therefore one might as well face up to the fact that during the course of one’s life a certain amount of disease is inevitable.

— 7th Dalai Lama

Observe and appreciate the life you have right Here, right Now. Bring your attention to the reality of this Present moment you are in, without the need of adding any judgment, resistance or thought to it.    –Anon I mus