archangel uriel

Holy Scripture clearly and irrefutably witnesses that angels ceaselessly communicate with this world. The Holy Scripture and Holy Tradition of the Orthodox Church teaches us the names of the seven leaders of the angelic powers: Michael, Gabriel, Raphael, Uriel, Salathiel, Jegudiel, and Barachiel (an eighth, Jeremiel, is sometimes included).

Michael” in the Hebrew language means “Who is like unto God?” or “Who is equal to God?” St. Michael has been depicted from earliest Christian times as a commander, who holds in his right hand a spear with which he attacks Lucifer, Satan, and in his left hand a green palm branch. At the top of the spear there is a linen ribbon with a red cross. The Archangel Michael is especially considered to be the Guardian of the Orthodox Faith and a fighter against heresies.

Gabriel” means “Man of God” or “Might of God.” He is the herald of the mysteries of God, especially the Incarnation of God and all other mysteries related to it. He is depicted as follows: In his right hand, he holds a lantern with a lighted taper inside, and in his left hand, a mirror of green jasper. The mirror signifies the wisdom of God as a hidden mystery.

Raphael’ means "God’s healing” or “God the Healer.” (Tobit 3:17, 12:15). Raphael is depicted leading Tobit (who is carrying a fish caught in the Tigris) with his right hand, and holding a physician’s alabaster jar in his left hand.

Uriel” means “Fire of God,” or “Light of God” (III Esdras 3:1, 5:20). He is depicted holding a sword against the Persians in his right hand, and a fiery flame in his left.

Salathiel” means “Intercessor of God” (III Esdras 5:16). He is depicted with his face and eyes lowered, holding his hands on his bosom in prayer.

Jegudiel’ means "Glorifier of God.” He is depicted bearing a golden wreath in his right hand and a triple-thonged whip in his left hand.

Barachiel” means “Blessing of God.” He is depicted holding a white rose in his hand against his breast.

Jeremiel” means “God’s exaltation.” He is venerated as an inspirer and awakener of exalted thoughts that raise a man toward God (III Ezra 4:36).

From the Prologue of Ochrid
by St. Nikolai Velimirovich 

The Archangels

The Archangles are the highest level of angelic beings in the Abrahamic religions. Though the exact ranking of the angels changes with each religious organization, the most commonly recognized archangels are Michael, Gabriel, Raphael, and Uriel.


Info from:

Image from:


Now that the Chosen One’s here, I can’t just sit back and do nothing.

Archangel Uriel: Uriel is an angel of transformation, archangel of salvation, regent of the sun, overseer of Tartarus, and is the spirit of ministration and peace. He helps turn our worst disappointments into our greatest blessings. He represents freedom, independence, intensity and new ideas. He can slow down the more unpleasant influences of Uranus, such as stubbornness, nervosity and inflexibility. The German god of thunder, Thor, is associated with Uriel. He is the Angel of the North and one of the most powerful archangels. Uriel is said to be the one who will tear down the gates of hell on Judgement Day, and he is also responsible for retaliation and revolution.