Mike Lupica

This is what an emotional President Obama said in a gym in Newtown, Conn., on a Sunday night in December, two days after 26 people — 20 of them children — were murdered in cold blood by Adam Lanza, all of the killing done by a semiautomatic rifle called the AR-15:

“We can’t tolerate this anymore. We are not doing enough and we will have to change.”

Then he looked out into the audience and into the faces of the families of the victims of Sandy Hook Elementary School and said this to them, and to the country:

“I’ll use whatever power this office holds … in an effort aimed at preventing more tragedies like this.”

But what does the President say now to the families of the victims of Sandy Hook, and Aurora, Colo., and all the other victims of mass murders and glory killers in this country? What does he say now that it becomes clear that a ban on assault weapons won’t even be legitimately included in the gun legislation being shaped this week in the U.S. Senate?

Any fool knows that Lanza couldn’t possibly have killed as many children as quickly as he did on the morning of Dec. 14 without an assault weapon in his hands. So how does the President and any other big politician who allows the gun nuts from the National Rifle Association to win again answer the larger question about weapons that make killings like the elementary-school massacre ridiculously easy:

If not now for a ban for these weapons, when?

If Sandy Hook Elementary doesn’t make every member of Congress take a stand against assault weapons in this country, then what does? How many small coffins do we need the next time?

And after the next Adam Lanza shows up with a gun like an AR-15 in a school or a theater or a shopping mall, no one will believe a word the President says at the next memorial service about profoundly changing gun laws in this country. Because three months after Newtown, it turns out that the President has no real power to change anything when it comes to guns in the hands of the wrong people in America.

Of course background checks are important. But so is an assault weapons ban. And please don’t believe the self-serving and slobbering supporters of the NRA — that means all the politicians in the House and the Senate who have pimped themselves out to the NRA — who tell you that a ban like this won’t make a difference, will not save lives the next time.

That happens to be a shameful and gutless lie.

Again: Ask any gun owner if Lanza could have killed as many children as he did in as short a time as he did — before he was a sure shot putting a bullet from one of his handguns through his snake-filled brain — if he didn’t have an AR-15 in his hands. Then go ask the gun lovers to explain all over again how a ban on weapons like this wouldn’t have saved three young lives that morning, or five, or maybe even more than that.

We know how much money the NRA pours into lobbying for guns like this to be completely available in America. We know that it has turned so many politicians, too many politicians, into cowards in the face of the money and imagined power of the NRA. But what dollar value would the NRA put on the life of a single child who could have been saved that morning if Adam Lanza had only been firing away with a handgun?

All we get now on guns in Washington is pathetic deal-making. We see even tough, noble politicians fighting for the ban, such as Sen. Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.), giving up on the assault weapons ban because it is too controversial, and will perhaps kill the chance for other gun restrictions that do have bipartisan support.

Feinstein has fought for more gun control for such a long time and was nearly in tears Tuesday when talking about the failure of the ban to even make it to the Senate floor as anything more than an amendment in a much bigger gun bill.

“People say, ‘well, are you disappointed?’ ” Feinstein said. “Obviously, I’m disappointed.”

Wayne LaPierre of the NRA, the face and voice opposing gun control in America, yammers on constantly about how only good guys with guns can stop bad guys with guns, as if the only way to make us all safer from killing machines like Lanza are more guns. But you have to know this was a day in Washington when the bad guys won, and won big.

There is a reason why nearly 140,000 print and online readers of the Daily News signed petitions in this newspaper’s campaign to ban assault weapons and high-capacity magazines. It is because they believed — and properly so — that this moment, the moment of Newtown, of Sandy Hook Elementary, should not be lost, because if it is, maybe it is lost forever.

It was officially lost in Washington on Tuesday, lost to fear and lost to ignorance and lost to the NRA. One last time: If not a ban on assault weapons now, then when? Shame on them all.

Mike Lupica: you're a racist if you don't love Obama

I know Obama’s had a bad week and the media are panicked about his reelection chances, but this is getting pathetic. Their strategy, which hasn’t changed much since, well, ever, is to simply call those who disagree with them racists. And since they can’t point to Obama’s record and Obama obviously can’t run on “change” this time around, they’re left with the same tired tactic.

This time, we have the ever ignorant Mike Lupica insisting that America is full of racists and if Obama loses, it’s because he’s black.

From the NY Daily News:

There will be so many things to talk about with Obama vs. Romney from here to November, but the one that nobody will want to talk about very much in polite society, even in what has a chance to be the meanest presidential campaign for all times, is race.

It works against the President this time, in a big way.

Last time, there were just weren’t enough reasons for enough white voters to vote against the black guy, as much as they wanted to. This time there are plenty.

 Read the Rest

This level of ignorance is truly staggering. He even manages to contradict himself in the first 4 sentences. It’s remarkable. He says that there weren’t enough reasons for voters to vote against the black guy last cycle but there are now. So he’s admitting that there are “plenty” of reasons to vote against Obama this time. So if a person votes against Obama, how does Lupica know that it’s not for the plethora of other reasons that he admits exist and instead, racism? He just DOES, DARN IT! He offers no evidence in the entire article as to how he knows this, yet he writes authoritatively and with conviction as if it’s gospel. The desperation of liberals is getting kind of funny now. And with every article they write calling everyone who disagrees with them racists they not only make people calloused to real racism but they show just how biased and genuinely wrong they are.

H/T Weasel Zippers, Mediaite lays the smackdown on Lupica.

Here’s my problem with this… So everybody is well intention here. But, where was everybody with Greg Hardy back in May? Where was Terry O'Neil? Where was she from the National Organization of Women? They are doing flyovers saying “Fire Goodell” today. Ok, wheres the flyover telling the Panthers to sit down Greg Hardy? … All of these people who thinking getting him [Roger Goodell] now, is going to solve this problem are insane.
— 

-Mike Lupica on the Sports Reporters Sunday Sept 14, 2014

There is video of Ray Rice punching his then fiance, now wife, in an elevator.

Where as Greg Hardy has been convicted of Domestic Abuse (is appealing). The women he abused claimed Hardy ‘Threw her into the tile bathtub’, “He beat the shit out of me”, 'choked her twice’ and “slammed” her onto a futon full of guns. SI Link

If Goodell didn’t see the video of Rice, firing him doesn’t do any good (firing him for seeing the video and lying about it is different issue and justifiable). It doesn’t change the problem the NFL has with Domestic Violence, because its a society problem with Domestic Violence. Society problems take time and generations to fix, and this needs to start now.

ps the rest of the sport reporters was very good and recommend anyone to watch/listen to the episode

This afternoon I’ll be traveling to Washington, DC for the National Book Festival, a weekend full of presentations and signings by a dazzling number of authors and illustrators. Here’s a brief schedule of Penguin Young Readers peeps who will be there:

SATURDAY, September 22:

John Green (THE FAULT IN OUR STARS) presenting at the Teens & Children pavilion from 10 – 10:45am, signing from 11am – 2pm.

Mike Lupica (TRUE LEGEND) presenting at the Teens & Children pavilion from 10:55 – 11:40am, signing from 12:00pm.

Anna Dewdney (LLAMA LLAMA TIME TO SHARE) signing from 2:30 – 3:30pm, presenting at the Children’s pavilion from 4:25 – 5:10 pm.

SUNDAY, September 23:

Bob Balaban (THE CREATURE FROM THE 7TH GRADE) presenting at the Chidren’s pavilion from 12 – 12:45pm, signing from 1:30 – 2:30pm.

Patricial Polacco (THE ART OF MISS CHEW) presenting at the Children’s pavilion from 12:55 – 1:40pm, signing from 2 – 3pm.

Jane O’Connor and Jill Abramson (READY OR NOT, HERE COMES SCOUT) presenting at the Family Storytelling Stage by Target from 2:40 – 3pm, signing from 3:30 – 4:30pm.

Jacqueline Woodson (Beneath a Meth Moon) presenting at the Teens & Children pavilion from 2:45 – 3:30 pm, signing from 4:30 – 5:30 pm.

For more information on the National Book Festival check click here.

The Only Game

The Only Game by Mike Lupica; Published February 2015 by Simon & Schuster; Grades 3-6; ISBN 9781481409957

Tags: Elementary Fiction; Sports Fiction; Baseball; Grief

Read-alikes: Best of the Best by Tim Green

Review Published: Booklist OnlineDec. 30, 2014

“Best friends Jack and Gus have dreamed of their chance at the Little League World Series for years, so when Jack quits the seventh-grade team after the first practice, everyone is astonished. Down their star player, the Rays—including Gus—turn on Jack, who finds friends in the funny, overweight “Teddy Bear” Madden and Cassie Bennett, the confident star of the girls’ softball team. These new alliances help Jack confront the true reason he gave up the sport he loves, and a loving family environment helps Jack get back into the swing of things. Though the supportive nature of Jack’s family and friends verges on saccharine, and the seventh-graders are often too wise for their years, many will find comfort in a story where community and friendships reign supreme. Readers will benefit from having a knowledge of baseball, as detailed plays feature in a narrative otherwise devoted to personal growth, grieving, and achieving your dreams. A natural choice for Matt Christopher and Tim Green fans.”

— Julia Smith