Blog Management

Primary Blogs vs. Secondary Blogs

What’s the difference between a Primary and Secondary blog?

A primary blog is the first one you created when you signed up for Tumblr. It gives you full use of Tumblr’s social features, including Follow, Like, Reply, Ask, and Submit. You cannot, however, enable password protection for privacy or add multiple users to create and manage posts, which are features reserved for secondary blogs.

Secondary blogs are any blogs you create in addition to your primary blog. You can create up to 10 of these per day.

While secondary blogs can be password-protected and have multiple users, they cannot follow other blogs, like posts, ask questions, or submit to other blogs.

Can I change my primary blog to a different one?

No, our architecture doesn’t support that.

Can I password protect my primary blog?

No, but you can create an additional blog with password protection.

Can I create more than one blog?

Most definitely! Unlike your primary blog, these additional blogs (known as secondary blogs) can be password-protected for privacy, and you can add multiple users to create and manage posts. Additional blogs, however, cannot follow other blogs, like posts, ask questions, or submit to other blogs.

How do I create another blog?

  1. Click the blog menu on the top right of your Dashboard
  2. Click “Create a new blog” at the bottom of the menu.
  Primary BlogSecondary Blog
Reblog    
Password Protection    
Multiple Users    
Initiate Social Features (Follow, Like, Ask, Submit → to other blogs)    
Receive Social Features (Follow, Like, Ask, Submit → from other blogs)    

Note: If you want to create a new primary blog, you'll have to log out of your current account and register a new blog with a completely separate email address. There is no way to have two primary blogs associated with one email.

Blog Features

What are social features?

They’re a great way to engage with the Tumblr community, so make sure you’re logged in to access all of the features!

  • Follow: If you see a blog you like, hit “Follow” in the upper right hand corner of their page. That way, their posts will always show up on your Dashboard and you can keep up to date with anything they share. You can also hover over blog avatars on tag pages and click the menu icon that appears, then click Follow in the dropdown menu. On the Dashboard, when someone reblogs another user that you aren't following, click the "+" next to their username to follow them!
  • Like: Show some love for a post by  hitting the Like button! On blogs, it will appear on the upper right corner of the permalink page. On the dashboard, it will appear on the bottom right corner of every post.
  • Reply: Have something to say about a specific post? You can respond directly on your Dashboard via the “Reply” icon on the post, as long as the user has enabled this feature. If you don't see a Reply button on a post, it may be because they don't allow replies or you haven't followed them for more than 48 hours.
  • Ask: Got a question for another user? If they’ve enabled the Ask feature, you’ll find an “Ask” button or link on the blog’s main page. You can also hover over blog avatars on the Dashboard and click the menu icon that appears, then click "Ask" in the dropdown menu.
  • Submit: Some blogs allow you to share a post of your own. Just click the “Submit” button or link on the blog’s main page, and choose the type of post you’d like to share. Submission does not always guarantee that your post will be published; that’s in the hands of the blog Admin(s).
  • Fan Mail: Lets you send messages to other bloggers! It's similar to the Ask feature because it uses the same inbox, but there are several differences. Learn more about Ask, Submit, and Fan Mail here, or check out a few troubleshooting tips if you're having issues with your Inbox.

Group Blogs

Group blogs are secondary blogs with multiple members.

How do I add other members to a group blog?

  1. Choose your blog from the menu on the top right.
  2. Click “Members.”
  3. Type the person’s email address and click the “Invite to this blog” button.
  4. We’ll send an email with an invite link that they can only use once.
    - If they accept and already have Tumblr, your blog will just show up on their Dashboard.
    - If they’re a new user, they’ll need to sign up for a free account before joining your blog.

What’s the difference between a Member and an Admin?

  • Admins can invite new users, remove existing users, and delete posts by any Member.
  • Members can post to a blog, edit or remove their own posts, and Reply to posts.
  • Admins can view and reply to Messages, while members cannot.

How do I give Admin privileges to a Member?

On the Members page, click the “Promote to admin” button next to the user you’d like to promote. Once you make someone an Admin, keep in mind that you won’t be able to take away their admin privileges or remove them from the blog.

URL / Web Address Changes

How do I change the URL / web address of my blogs?

  1. Click Settings (the gear icon) at the top of your Dashboard.
  2. Click the blog you’d like to update on the left side of the page.
  3. Change the web address of your blog in the URL section of the page.
  4. Hit “Save.”

Why can't I register this URL? Can you release an unavailable/inactive URL for me?

We can't release taken, dormant, or terminated URLs/web addresses at this time. If you get an error message when trying to register an apparently unused URL, it may have been terminated. Also, we cannot put you in touch with the account owner.

If you have a registered trademark or have found a clear case of impersonation, contact us at the link below. Attach a copy of your active trademark documentation and demonstrate your connection to the trademark to speed up the review process.

What happens if I change my blog URL?

Any links to your blog that people have put in posts, reblogs, or have bookmarked will break, so be sure to keep this in mind before making any changes.

Will changing my URL affect my Followed/Following lists?

No, those will be totally unaffected.

Deleting an Account or Blog

How do I delete my account or a specific blog?

Visit www.tumblr.com/docs/account for details.

Time Zones

How do I change my time zone?

  1. Click Settings (the gear icon) at the top of your Dashboard.
  2. Click the blog you'd like to update on the left side of the page.
  3. Go to the time zone section and make your update in the dropdown menu.
  4. Click "Save."

What happens to my posts if I change my time zone?

Time zone changes will not affect published posts, only posts published or edited after the change.